International Conference «Mathematical and Informational Technologies, MIT-2011»
(IX Conference «Computational and Informational Technologies for Science,
Engineering and Education»)

Vrnjacka Banja, Serbia, August, 27–31, 2011

Budva, Montenegro, August, 31 – September, 5, 2011

Sadovskaya O.V.  

Simulation of the dynamic contact interaction of elastic-plastic bodies using high-performance computing

       The algorithm for numerical realization of boundary conditions of contact interaction of deformable bodies with beforehand unknown, time-dependent zone of contact is worked out. Contact conditions are formulated in the form of quasivariational inequality with one-sided constraint. This constraint corresponds to the condition of nonpenetration of deformable bodies into each other. Discrete inequalities are solved numerically in boundary meshes of the finite-difference grid by means of the method of successive approximations, on each step of which the projections of velocity vectors and some auxiliary vectors, serving for taking into account a friction in the contact zone, onto convex and closed sets of special form are constructed.
       Dynamic deformation of elastic-plastic materials is described by the mathematical model taking into account small strains and finite rotations. This model consists of the system of equations of motion, the Hooke law for elastic constituents of the strain tensor, the equation for the rotation angle and the variational inequality of the principle of maximum of the energy dissipation power describing the process of plastic flow. The transition of material from elastic state to plastic one is determined by the Mises yield condition.
       Parallel shock-capturing algorithm is proposed for implementation of this model on multiprocessor computer systems. It is based on the combination of splitting methods with respect to physical processes and spatial variables. The data exchange between processors occurs at step “predictor” of the finite-difference scheme with the help of shadow edges. Computation of the whole contact boundary is produced by a separate processor. To improve the approximation of geometrical constraints in the contact zone, the correspondence between boundary meshes of independent grids of interacting bodies is established and quasivariational inequality is solved on a grid refinement, common for two contacting surfaces.
       Numerical computations for the problem of an oblique impact of two deformable plates in two-dimensional formulation were performed on cluster.

This work was supported by the Russian Foundation for Basic Research (project no. 11-01-00053), by Complex Fundamental Research Program no. 2 of the Presidium of RAS (Intelligent Information Technologies, Mathematical Modeling, System Analysis and Automation) and by the Interdisciplinary Integration Project no. 40 of the Siberian Branch of RAS.

Abstracts file: O_Sadov_annot.doc
Full text file: O_Sadov_tez.pdf


To reports list

© 1996-2017, Institute of computational technologies of SB RAS, Novosibirsk

Международная конференция «Математические и информационные технологии, MIT-2011»
(IX конференция «Вычислительные и информационные технологии в науке,
технике и образовании») № гос. регистрации 0321102644, ISBN 978-5-905569-02-9

Врнячка Баня, Сербия, 27–31 августа 2011 г.

Будва, Черногория, 31 августа – 5 сентября 2011 г.

Садовская О.В.  

Моделирование динамического контактного взаимодействия упругопластических тел с использованием высокопроизводительных вычислений

        Разработан алгоритм численной реализации граничных условий контактного взаимодействия деформируемых тел с заранее неизвестной, изменяющейся со временем зоной контакта. Используется точная формулировка контактных условий в виде квазивариационного неравенства с односторонними ограничениями, моделирующими взаимное непроникание тел. Дискретные неравенства решаются численно в граничных ячейках сеточной области с помощью метода последовательных приближений, на каждом шаге которого строятся проекции векторов скорости и некоторых вспомогательных векторов, служащих для учета сил трения в зоне контакта, на специальные выпуклые и замкнутые множества.
       Динамическое деформирование упругопластических тел описывается на основе математической модели, учитывающей конечные повороты элементов тел при малых деформациях. В модель входят уравнения движения, закон Гука для упругих составляющих тензора деформации, уравнение для угла поворота и вариационное неравенство принципа максимума мощности диссипации энергии, записанное относительно пластических составляющих. Переход материала из упругого в пластическое состояние описывается условием Мизеса.
        Предложен параллельный алгоритм сквозного счета для этой модели, основанный на комбинации методов расщепления по физическим процессам и по пространственным переменным. Обмен данными между процессорами производится на шаге “предиктор” разностной схемы с использованием технологии законтурных ячеек. Расчет контактной границы производится отдельным процессором. Для улучшения аппроксимации геометрических ограничений в зоне контакта устанавливается соответствие между граничными ячейками независимых разностных сеток взаимодействующих тел и квазивариационное неравенство решается на измельченной сетке, общей для двух контактирующих поверхностей. 
        Проведены расчеты косого соударения пластин в двумерной постановке на кластере.

Работа выполнена при финансовой поддержке РФФИ (код проекта 11-01-00053), Комплексной программы фундаментальных исследований Президиума РАН № 2 «Интеллектуальные информационные технологии, математическое моделирование, системный анализ и автоматизация» и Междисциплинарного интеграционного проекта Сибирского отделения РАН № 40.

Файл тезисов: O_Sadov_annot.doc
Файл с полным текстом: O_Sadov_tez.pdf


К списку докладов

© 1996-2017, Институт вычислительных технологий СО РАН, Новосибирск