Novosibirsk, Russia, May, 30 – June, 4, 2011

International Conference
"Modern Problems of Applied Mathematics and Mechanics: Theory, Experiment and Applications", devoted to the 90th anniversary of professor Nikolai N. Yanenko

Gubarev Y.G.  

On the long-wave instability of stationary plane-parallel flows of a homogeneous in density ideal incompressible fluid with a free boundary in the gravity field

The linear stability problem of steady-state plane-parallel flows of a homogeneous in density inviscid incompressible fluid with a free surface in the gravity field is studied. It is proved by the energy method that for such flows there are no sufficient conditions for stability against small plane long-wave perturbations.

However, earlier V.M. Teshukov by means of the generalized characteristics method has been received the hyperbolicity conditions for equations describing the long waves propagation on a free boundary of horizontal layer of a whirling homogeneous in density ideal incompressible fluid in the gravity field. At that, the given hyperbolicity conditions he interpreted as sufficient conditions for linear stability exactly.

As presence or absence of sufficient conditions for stability shouldn't depend on choice of either research method, there is an urgent need to eliminate the arisen contradiction.

With that end in view, an analytical example of the stationary plane-parallel flow and small plane long-wave perturbations in the form of normal modes imposed on it has been constructed (together with E.Yu. Knyazeva). It was found out that the given perturbations don't fall under action of Teshukov’s hyperbolicity conditions. In particular, for their time growth it is absolutely indifferent, these hyperbolicity conditions are satisfied as such or not. The reason for similar state of affairs consists that Teshukov’s hyperbolicity conditions are fair not for all possible small plane long-wave perturbations, and only for their some subclass (besides, that fundamentally, not being independent).

Based on the above-stated, it seems logical that studying of the given problems should be continued, and in the following two main directions: 1) proof of absolute instability for steady-state plane-parallel flows of a homogeneous in density inviscid incompressible fluid with a free surface in the gravity field against small plane long-wave perturbations and 2) search of new hyperbolicity conditions which would be expressed through integrals of motion and, thus, would be isolated independent particular classes of long waves.

Abstracts file: gubarev.doc
Full text file: gubarev1.pdf
Presentation file: Gubarev.pdf


To reports list
© 1996-2017, Institute of computational technologies of SB RAS, Novosibirsk

Новосибирск, Россия, 30 мая – 4 июня 2011 г.

Международная конференция
«Современные проблемы прикладной математики и механики: теория, эксперимент и практика», посвященная 90-летию со дня рождения академика Н.Н. Яненко
№ гос. регистрации 0321101160, ISBN 978-5-905569-01-2

Губарев Ю.Г.  

К длинноволновой неустойчивости стационарных плоскопараллельных течений однородной по плотности идеальной несжимаемой жидкости со свободной границей в поле силы тяжести

     Изучается задача линейной устойчивости установившихся плоскопараллельных течений однородной по плотности невязкой несжимаемой жидкости со свободной поверхностью в поле силы тяжести. Энергетическим методом доказано, что для таких течений не существует достаточных условий устойчивости относительно малых плоских длинноволновых возмущений.
     Однако, ранее В.М. Тешуковым с помощью метода обобщенных характеристик были получены условия гиперболичности уравнений, описывающих распространение длинных волн по свободной границе горизонтального слоя завихренной однородной по плотности идеальной несжимаемой жидкости в поле силы тяжести. При этом данные условия гиперболичности он интерпретировал именно как достаточные условия линейной устойчивости.
     Поскольку наличие или отсутствие достаточных условий устойчивости не должно зависеть от выбора того либо другого метода исследования, появляется настоятельная необходимость устранить возникшее противоречие.
     С этой целью был построен (совместно с Е.Ю. Князевой) аналитический пример стационарного плоскопараллельного течения и наложенных на него малых плоских длинноволновых возмущений в виде нормальных мод. Выяснилось, что данные возмущения под действие условий гиперболичности В.М. Тешукова не подпадают. В частности, для их роста со временем совершенно безразлично, выполняются эти условия гиперболичности как таковые или нет. Причина подобного положения дел заключается в том, что условия гиперболичности В.М. Тешукова справедливы не для всех возможных малых плоских длинноволновых возмущений, а лишь для некоторого их подкласса (к тому же, что принципиально, не являющегося самостоятельным).
     Исходя из вышеизложенного, представляется логичным, что изучение данной проблематики должно быть продолжено, причем в следующих двух главных направлениях: 1) доказательство абсолютной неустойчивости установившихся плоскопараллельных течений однородной по плотности невязкой несжимаемой жидкости со свободной поверхностью в поле силы тяжести по отношению к малым плоским длинноволновым возмущениям и 2) отыскание новых условий гиперболичности, которые выражались бы через интегралы движения и, тем самым, выделяли бы самостоятельные частные классы длинных волн.

Файл тезисов: gubarev.doc
Файл с полным текстом: gubarev1.pdf
Файл презентации: Gubarev.pdf


К списку докладов
© 1996-2017, Институт вычислительных технологий СО РАН, Новосибирск