Novosibirsk, Russia, May, 30 – June, 4, 2011

International Conference
"Modern Problems of Applied Mathematics and Mechanics: Theory, Experiment and Applications", devoted to the 90th anniversary of professor Nikolai N. Yanenko

Moshev V.V.   Evlampieva S.E.  

Time dependence of cyclic resistance of elastomeric nanocomposites

Reporter: Evlampieva S.E.

The well-known structural mechanisms of time dependence of elastomeric nanocomposites (matrix viscoelasticity, detachment of the matrix from the particle surface and migration of a plasticizer into matrix microvolumes) are unlikely to explain the peculiarities of the cyclic resistance of these materials. The experience accumulated during the last 30 years suggests the existence of one more mechanism responsible for the phenomenon under consideration. This mechanism comprises reversible surface sliding accompanied by the friction between rubber macromolecules, sorbed by the particle surface. The detachment of molecules from the surface of nanoparticles, owing to their small sizes, is ruled out.
To describe this process, a model is presented which includes two substrates (filler particles) separated by a gap defining filler concentration. The elastic spring lying on the substrates represents a rubber molecule, sorbed by the particle surface. The model is deformed due to separating and approaching of the substrates. During the extension of the model, the spring in the gap between the substrates becomes engaged into the elastic resistance, which forces the part of the spring to slip into the gap between the substrates. The slip is impeded by the adsorption bonds of the spring with the substrate surface, which can be overcome by applying an additional force. Experiments indicate that this process can be considered as reversible.
In this paper, we present a mathematical model of cyclic tests of elastomeric materials, which explains the relaxation behavior of the materials. Hysteresis loses are obtained for different conditions of cyclic loading.

The research was supported by the Fundamental research program of the Department of Power Engineering, Mechanical Engineering, Mechanics and Control Processes of RAS "Tribological and strength properties of structured materials and surface layers" № 09-Т-1-1006.
 

Abstracts file: Evlampieva_rus.doc
Full text file: report_Evlampieva.pdf


To reports list
© 1996-2017, Institute of computational technologies of SB RAS, Novosibirsk

Новосибирск, Россия, 30 мая – 4 июня 2011 г.

Международная конференция
«Современные проблемы прикладной математики и механики: теория, эксперимент и практика», посвященная 90-летию со дня рождения академика Н.Н. Яненко
№ гос. регистрации 0321101160, ISBN 978-5-905569-01-2

Мошев В.В.   Евлампиева С.Е.  

Временная специфика циклического сопротивления эластомерных нанокомпозитов

Докладчик: Евлампиева С.Е.

     Известные структурные механизмы временной чувствительности эластомерных нанокомпозитов, таких как собственная вязкоупругость матриц, микроотрывы матрицы от поверхности частиц наполнителя, миграция пластификатора в микрообъемах матрицы, вряд ли способны объяснить некоторые особенности циклического сопротивления этих материалов. В то же время опыт, накопленный экспериментаторами в течение последних 30 лет, дает основание предложить еще один механизм рассматриваемого явления, который представляет собой обратимое поверхностное скольжение с трением макромолекул каучука, сорбированных поверхностью частиц, когда в связи с малыми размерами наночастиц возможность отрыва от поверхности частиц исключена.
      Выбранная для описания такого процесса структура модели представлена двумя подложками (частицами наполнителя), разделенными промежутком, определяющим концентрацию наполнителя. На подложках располагается упругая пружина (молекула каучука), сорбированная поверхностью частиц. Деформирование модели представляется раздвижением или сближением подложек. Растягивая модель, пружина в промежутке между подложками начинает упруго сопротивляться. Это усилие приводит к соскальзыванию части пружины с подложек в зазор между ними. Соскальзывание тормозится сорбционными связями пружины с поверхностью подложки, преодоление которых требует приложения усилия. Опыты показывают, что такой процесс можно рассматривать как обратимый.
      В работе описана математическая модель циклических испытаний эластомерных нанокомпозитов, объясняющая сущность их релаксационного поведения. Получены гистерезисные кривые для различных условий циклического нагружения.

Работа выполнена по программе фундаментальных исследований Отделения энергетики, машиностроения, механики и процессов управления РАН № 09-Т-1-1006.

Файл тезисов: Evlampieva_rus.doc
Файл с полным текстом: report_Evlampieva.pdf


К списку докладов
© 1996-2017, Институт вычислительных технологий СО РАН, Новосибирск